The online journal of speculative fiction author Christopher Rowe.

Sunday, May 15, 2005

The Fountain Award

The second annual Fountain Award, given to a "speculative short story of exceptional quality" has been awarded by the Speculative Literature Foundation. This year's winner is Jeffrey Ford for his "The Annals of Eelin-Ok," a great story from last year's best anthology, The Faery Reel.

The jurors also published a short list of honorable mentions, and the list of stories, publications and writers included make up a pretty good snapshot of where the exciting work is in genre fiction these days, I think. Of special note on that short list is David J. Schwartz's "The Lethe Man" from the last issue of Say...

Congratulations to Jeff and Dave, and to all the other finalists. Go read all about it.